Mediterranean Policy

In creating a new economic entity, sustainability must be embraced

 Rock at the north part of Cirali, Turkey.  
	© WWF Mediterranean / M.Gunther
Rock at the north part of Cirali, Turkey.
© WWF Mediterranean / M.Gunther
The Euro-Mediterranean Partnership, or EUMP, was signed in 1995 by 27 countries - the 15 EU member states plus Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Egypt, Jordan, Syria, Lebanon, Israel, Palestine, Cyprus, Malta, Turkey - and the EU Commission.
It sets the context for cooperation among the EU and Mediterranean countries, and aims at the creation of "an area of dialogue, exchange and co-operation, guaranteeing peace, stability and prosperity."

Real integration of environmental concerns in the implementation of the Euromed partnership is, however, proving to be difficult due to its overall focus on trade liberalization. The partnership's objective is the creation of a Mediterranean free trade zone embracing the European Union and 12 North African and Middle Eastern nations, by 2010. This free trade zone could increase the pressure on the region's environment.

MEDA II: 11.3 billion Euros of funding
The financial instrument of the partnership, MEDA II, revised in 2000, will invest 5.3 billion Euros during 2000-2005 to support economic development and structural adjustment in the partner countries. The European investment bank will make available an additional 6 billion Euros.

The lobbying efforts of WWF and the support of the European Parliament have resulted in MEDA II including references to sustainable development and the environment. The challenge is now to implement these policy commitments in the field.

WWF urges the European Union to ensure that the Euromed partnership implements a sustainable Mediterranean policy that maintains the environmental and societal balance.

  • Download the 12 steps towards a sustainable MEDA in English (PDF Format: 81 KB) November 2000